Welcome to the S.Y. Ciphers Blog: A few things about me

Welcome to the blog. I’ve been blogging for about 10 years now (LiveJournal counted as blogging, right?), but this is my first “professional” blog. I’m glad you’re reading, and if you want to learn more about the S.Y. Ciphers blog, I’d suggest starting on the About page.

For now, I’d like to introduce myself.

  • I’m a professional news writer. I currently write for a health care association, contribute to a local magazine, and write for other online pubs.
  • I was born on the bayou in South Louisiana (seriously, you couldn’t get more South than where I lived or you’d be in the Gulf of Mexico).
  • I’ve lived in Frederick, Maryland with my husband for the past 4 years. We’re huge fans of this quirky historic town.
  • Before that I lived north of New Orleans and in Baton Rouge (while attending Louisiana State University for my bachelor’s and master’s degrees in journalism).
  • My first paid writing gig was for an independent campus newspaper. I got the job my sophomore year at LSU. I remember being worried that I was thinking of story ideas in the shower, and for about a day I wondered whether I had chosen the right profession.
  • But then I realized I was just passionate about what I did, so brainstorming in the shower wasn’t so bad. (Yes, I still come up with great story ideas in the shower).
  • I would never turn down a crawfish or crab boil.
  • I like being active and playing sports – running, biking, lifting weights, playing soccer, hiking, etc.
  • My husband and I love to travel (but who doesn’t?). Recently we spent three weeks in Spain and Portugal. Some of the top places we’ve seen are: hanging out with Highland Cows on the Isle of Skye, Scotland; lazily wandering along the canals in Amsterdam; watching the botafumeiro in the Santiago de Compostela Cathedral in Spain; attending mass at the Mezquita in Cordoba; touring the Lavra Caves Monastery in Kiev, Ukraine; hiking Rocky Mountain National Park in Colorado; and seeing humpback whales dance around our boat in the Pacific Ocean a few hours outside of San Francisco.
  • I think the best writers are also the most prolific readers. I’ve been averaging about 50 novels a year (or 1 a week).
Tags: , , , ,

About Stephanie Y.

I'm a professional news writer in Frederick, Maryland. I blog at S.Y. Ciphers.

4 responses to “Welcome to the S.Y. Ciphers Blog: A few things about me”

  1. Claire says :

    Chris Rose is a rock star to me. I also love him. Stephen’s uncle was also an editor/excellent writer for the paper (and colleague of Rose’s). He got quite a bit of press with the demise of the daily.

    Every single one of my story ledes (and many of my story ideas) happen in the shower too. Nice to know it’s not just me. 🙂

  2. Olivia says :

    Hi there, all is going fine here and ofcourse every
    one is sharing data, that’s actually excellent, keep up writing.

  3. green coffee 1000 says :

    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post seem
    to be running off the screen in Opera. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post
    to let you know. The layout look great though!
    Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Many
    thanks

Leave a Reply

