Seagulls Caw

I think it would be very difficult for me to live in a land locked location. I love the water, whether it’s the ocean, the Gulf, a great lake, or a powerful river.

Frederick, MD is even almost a little too land locked for my liking, being a full hour from Annapolis and the Chesapeake Bay.

One clue that I can always count on when I’m feeling a little ‘land claustrophobic’ is the loud caw of seagulls.

I am a huge fun of seagulls. I love how they effortless glide around land and sea, how they cry loudly for their food and the attention of others and how they always just look a little confused (Finding Nemo captured all three of these perfectly with the scene of the seagulls saying “mine?”).

I am currently one book away from finishing reading through the list of Pulitzer fiction winners, and in one of the recent novels I read, there was an interesting observation about seagulls.

Harold L. Davis in Honey in the Horn (1935) says this:

“The only birds after dark were seagulls that screamed like a bunch of drunk washerwomen.”

The statement seemed harsh to me, at first. But then I realized it was an apt description. Why does a comparison to drunk washerwomen have to be negative? Drunk washerwomen are most likely loud, perhaps hungry and are probably in a big jovial group. Pretty accurate, no?

So now, when I hear those seagulls scream, I will not only think about the fact that I am not very far from the sea but also of those drunk washerwomen keeping everyone up at night.

Tags: , ,

About Stephanie Y.

I'm a professional news writer in Frederick, Maryland. I blog at S.Y. Ciphers.

Leave a Reply

