Fifteen Reasons Why Frederick is Stars Hollow

I’m a big Gilmore Girls fan – the rapid witty dialogue, the impossibly close mother-daughter relationship, the quirky Connecticut Ivy League ways. It is one of those shows that I can watch over and over and find myself laughing at jokes again and again.

One of the best parts about the show is the fictional New England town of Stars Hollow where Lorelei and Rory Gilmore live. When I moved to Frederick, Md., with my husband four years ago, I began to notice similarities between Frederick and Stars Hollow. Always a mental tally in my head, I thought these deserved to be cataloged and saved.

Here are 15 reasons why Frederick is just like Stars Hollow:

1) Our mayor owns a bagel shop downtown, much like the mayor of Stars Hollow, Taylor, owns a small grocery store in the middle of town.

2) We have well preserved historic buildings and houses and a walkable downtown. Sometimes it feels like living on a movie set.

3) One night, my husband and I saw seven police cars driving and parking the wrong way down our one-way street. Policemen were sprinting from their cars down the street. We assumed something huge was going down. A few days later we saw in the local paper that they were chasing a man who had stolen a wallet and was hiding in a bush on our street. A wallet thief. Seven police cars.

4) Frederick is the only town in America to have a high-wheel race.

5) We have a Civil War Medicine Museum.

6) We have a Railroad Museum.

7) I was literally composing this post when I saw the following making its way down the street.

8) At any coffee shop downtown, you will notice a large amount of regulars who have certain tables that is forever “their spot.” Much like Luke’s diner in Stars Hollow, our cafes have very dedicated followings. You can meet people in other places and say things like, “Oh, yes, you’re a Cafe Nola person”

9) Throughout the year we have festivals, events and other small town charming events.

10) On any given day, you can find something like this happening in Frederick.

11) Our park has a gazebo. Much like Stars Hollow.

Not a picture of the gazebo, but this is Baker Park.

12) We have antique stores, a dance school, bakeries, floral shops, barber shops, restaurants and inns in our downtown.

13) Revolutionary War and Civil War reenactments? Yes, we have those too.

Reenactment

14) There’s a “cast” of Frederick characters – the drummer man who plays air drums with a pair of drum sticks all around town, the former newspaper man who is always seen walking his dalmatian, the shop owners who remember you if you visit their store fairly regularly, the tattoo kids at Nola, the Bernard, etc. etc.

15) You can find historic markers throughout downtown with claims such as “General Lafayette slept here” and “George Washington hung his hat here” and “Francis Scott Key is buried here.”

Remember that time General Lafayette stayed here?

As I was watching Gilmore Girls while living in suburbia Louisiana, I could never have imagined that one day I’d be living in a pretty-much-real-life Stars Hollow. And I absolutely love it – quirks and all.

I could probably come up with 15 more, but I want to know – what did I leave out? Tell me in the comments.

Update 1/30/16: I couldn’t resist – I came up with eight more reasons here.

Tags: , ,

About Stephanie Y.

I'm a professional news writer in Frederick, Maryland. I blog at S.Y. Ciphers.

14 responses to “Fifteen Reasons Why Frederick is Stars Hollow”

  1. Claire says :

    You’re really selling Frederick to me. Gilmore Girls is one of my (and Stephen’s) favorite shows. 🙂

  2. Sanyika says :

    i ENJOYED YOUR POST AND KICKING MYSELF BECAUSE I LIVED IN FREDERICK FOR A YEAR AND NEVER REALLY GOT A CHANCE TO HANG OUT IN DOWNTOWN. I LOVE GILMORE GIRLS AND WATCH THE DVD’S REGULARLY AND ALWAYS WISHED I COULD FIND MY OWN STARS HOLLOW. JUST THINK, I LIVED THERE AND DIDN’T KNOW IT.

  3. Connie says :

    I just came across this while Googling Gilmore Girls. My all-time favourite show. Note the “u”. Yes, I’m Canadian. 🙂 You make your little town sound so wonderfully peaceful and friendly. I wish more towns were like this; just a friendly, loving, close-knit community. I always wished I lived in Stars Hollow. Just sent my daughter off to university and we were quite often compared to Lorelai and Rory. I love it!

    • Stephanie Y. says :

      Hi Connie! Glad you found my post. Yes, it’s a great place to live. I wish more towns were like it too. Hope your daughter is enjoying university! That must be a hard transition for both of you.

  4. luna says :

    as a germantown native and gilmore girls lover I didn’t even realize I lived so close to a our very own stars hollow.. maybe i’ll just have to move!

  5. Hailey says :

    Are the people in frederick a close-nit community like in Stars Hollow? Are they always there for eachother through the big things both good and bad? Do they come together and support one another the way they do in Stars Hollow? Do they have town meetings?

Leave a Reply

