A Few Geeky Things

1) Facebook Page Insights: I recently wrote an article for Poynter about how the new Facebook page insights can help organizations do better testing and experimentation. Check out the article here: 5 Ways to Increase Engagement With Facebook’s New Page Insights.

2) Did you know that you cannot pin animated GIFs (or at least I can’t figure out how to do it). I learned this when I tried to pin the following gif. On Pinterest it’s just a static image. boo. hiss.

I.just.can’t.stop.cracking.up.at.this.

3) One of my favorite free social media services is making headlines today, Topsy! They announced that they’ve indexed tweets since 2006. Amazing. For Web editors/social media peeps you have to use Topsy when tracking hashtags. I used it for our Conference and found all kind of great data and information.

4) I have been listening to Turntable.fm recently and love it! It’s a pretty retro concept – you have a “chat room” with DJs and listeners. The DJs play some tunes and people can just listen (which is what I do) or you can chat with each other and the DJs. They have different “rooms,” but my favorite so far has been Indie While You Work. Test it out – it’s free.

Tags: ,

About Stephanie Y.

I'm a professional news writer in Frederick, Maryland. I blog at S.Y. Ciphers.

Leave a Reply

