Will this be a good story?

It shouldn’t surprise you. I love stories.

I love hearing stories. Telling stories. Watching stories unfold. Being a part of a story.

Our lives are made up of stories – small and large, meaningful and mundane, hilarious and heartbreaking.

When was the last time you asked yourself, “will this make a good story?” 

I want to challenge you to spend the week (or the month!) living your life day by day with that question always in your head.

Will this make a good story?

If the answer is ever yes, go for it. Make a story. And then tell it. Write it on your blog. Call your friends and family. Post it on social media. Be a part of this ancient human tradition of storytelling.

I read about this on Conversion Diary this weekend and it’s stuck with me. It is so important and something that I have never articulated to myself before, but I feel like it’s been inside me this whole time.

So let me tell you a story.

This past week I was in Baltimore for my organization’s Annual Conference. This is no ordinary conference. We have about 8,000 attendees, 900+ sessions, and tons of events for about 4 or 5 straight days. It’s a lot of work, but it is also energizing. I’m the web editor and I spend the entire time on social media – taking, editing, and posting pictures, live tweeting events, responding to questions, retweeting, and a bunch of other 21st century stuff like that.

Ok, so imagine it is Saturday afternoon. I’ve been at Conference since Tuesday, basically. I’m exhausted. I’m leaving in less than an hour to go home. I’m sitting on my laptop monitoring the hashtag on Twitter and I see this tweet:

Llamas? In a convention center? I could have just retweeted the photo, packed up my laptop and spent the last hour chatting with other staff members.

Instead, I tweeted “WHERE ARE YOU?” And when I got the reply seconds later, I literally ran toward the llamas. With camera and phone in hand.

I found them outside and started snappnig photos. Again, I could have just turned around and left. But then I saw people around me contemplating taking selfies with llamas, so I said to a complete stranger next to me, “hey, can I be in your selfie?” And that’s how the llama butt selfie came about.

After posting that, Twitter blew up with our conference attendees asking about the llamas, posting their own selfies with llamas, and just general living la vida llamas (thanks, Joe, for that one!).

I ran back to the staff office and started posting my own photos, retweeting others’ photos, and generally partaking in the llama madness. I even made a meme about llamas with the help of our very “punny” staff (thank you, Sonja!).

It became a story. A funny and energizing story. One that I got to tell to all of you.

Now it’s your turn. Go and make (and tell!) some good stories. I’ll be waiting.

Tags: , , ,

About Stephanie Y.

I'm a professional news writer in Frederick, Maryland. I blog at S.Y. Ciphers.

Leave a Reply

