Andrew Wyeth: Telling the Stories that Nature & Time Built

I’ve been a fan of Andrew Wyeth since the first time I saw his painting Wind from the Sea at the National Gallery of Art.

He captures the American northeast in painting as much as John Cheever does in prose.

I grew up in Louisiana and have lived in Maryland for only 6 years now, but during that time I’ve developed an intense appreciation of the aesthetic up here. The farm house. The seasons. The windsor chair.

Last weekend I attended the Andrew Wyeth exhibition at the Gallery and after seeing dozens of his paintings and sketches and reading about his life and the way he describes his paintings I’m an even bigger fan.

“I love to see what different changes time brings about. Nature does amazing things to life.” – Andrew Wyeth

That quote. It can be seen throughout Maryland and Pennsylvania. Like at the Best House in Frederick, Maryland.

DSC_0904

It’s no surprise that I love stories and reading (and writing), so I appreciated the following quote:

“I built my own stories. That is what painting has been to me.” -Andrew Wyeth

Go and appreciate the stories that Wyeth built. The exhibition runs through November 30. I highly recommend it.

Tags: , , , ,

About Stephanie Y.

I'm a professional news writer in Frederick, Maryland. I blog at S.Y. Ciphers.

Leave a Reply

