Why You Should Take a Staycation + Four Tips for Locals

It’s day 3 of my staycation. Well technically day 5 if you include the weekend.

Fallingwater.

Because I had personal days about to expire and relatives in town, I decided to take a few days off from work without a single plan to go on an actual vacation.

I love vacations as much as I love traveling, and I think this was one of the first times I’ve ever separated the two. My first staycation was marvelous.

Day 1, on Friday, we visited Annapolis. Day 2 we enjoyed a typical Frederick summer Saturday by watching the High Wheel Race. Day 3 we museum-hopped in DC. Day 4 we (finally) visited the architectural gem just a couple of hours from our house – Fallingwater. Day 5 was for relaxing and doing absolutely nothing.

If you live in Frederick or anywhere in the D.C. area, here are a few tips for your own staycation:

William Paca's House and Garden.

William Paca’s House and Garden.

  1. Go to Annapolis. Even if you’ve been before, it’s such a charming historic town on the waterfront. Don’t miss the William Paca House and Gardens. You can take a house tour, or you can wander around the magnificent gardens for free (donations welcomed).
  2. Come visit Frederick. I know, I know. I say this all the time. But, really, we’ve always got something quirky and fun going on and there are tons of shops, restaurants, and historic sites to visit.
  3. Don’t forget the museums. Every time we travel and have to shell out $20 to enter a museum I’m reminded of just how lucky we are to have so many free museums in D.C. Be a tourist. Visit them all regularly.
  4. Make the drive to Fallingwater. It took us 7 years, but we finally drove out to Pennsylvania to see Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater. The drive is beautiful and mountainous. After you’re done, reward yourself with a visit to Ohiopyle State Park (which you drove through on the way there). Enjoy the natural waterslides and lots of streams and pools to cool off in. Pack a picnic.
Frederick's Clustered Spires High Wheel Race.

Frederick’s Clustered Spires High Wheel Race.

I head back to the office tomorrow completely rested and refreshed.

My public service announcement: Next time you have vacation days about to expire, take a few days off to stay home.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Stephanie Y.

I'm a professional news writer in Frederick, Maryland. I blog at S.Y. Ciphers.

Leave a Reply

