Favorite Man Booker Winners That I Read in 2015

IMG_20151223_211708If you’ve been reading the blog for a while, you’ll know that I love to read through lists of books. I finished the Pulitzer list and moved on to Nobel Laureates. I still have a few laureates left (and, oh boy, is it a challenge to find some of their works translated in English and available via interlibrary loan!), but I kicked off 2015 by starting to read all of the books that have won the Man Booker Prize.

I haven’t finished the list yet, but here are my favorites from the 20 or so I’ve read this year.

luminariespbLuminaries by Eleanor Catton

I love a long book, and at 832 pages, Catton’s book is the longest-ever Man Booker winner. She also was the youngest winner – she won at 28! The Luminaries is a thrill ride with dozens of characers and (potentially) supernatural happenings. I got hooked fast on this book and couldn’t put it down.

181678475Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

Who would have thought Thomas Cromwell was more interesting than Anne Boeylan? Mantel knew, and she crafted these two great books (will be a trilogy) focusing on a new point of view of an old and often told story. Mantel was the first woman and the first Brit to win the award twice. Here’s hoping she’ll take it home a third time when the final book is released.

ThegodofsmallthingsGod of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

I read a lot of great books this year, and this one was my favorite. It was devestatingly beautiful. You know how it ends from early on, and still I sobbed when it finally happens. Roy has created her own language that so perfectly captures youth and the confused innocence that comes with it. I can’t get it out of my head.

9781594633942A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James

The 2015 winner takes you on a trip to the lawless island of Jamaica in the 70s. I got so immersed in this book that I caught myself about to speak with a Jamaican accent in real life. I was in it and immersed, thanks to the storytelling that tells you just enough and leaves a lot unknown. You never quite know who to root for, but you’ve got to know what happens to them next.

IMG_20151223_210155

Read this book in a super chill Icelandic coffee shop in Manchester, UK called Takk.

Vernon God Little by D.B.C Pierre

So dark. So hilarious. I cringed, laghed out loud, and cheered while reading this tragic book. It’s too real, actually. When I tell you the premise (the aftermath of a school shooting) you’ll think I’m a monster for saying it’s funny, but trust me – it is, depressingly so. Sometimes it takes an outsider to really explain the American psyche, and this is what Pierre has done so well.

 

Tags: , ,

About Stephanie Y.

I'm a professional news writer in Frederick, Maryland. I blog at S.Y. Ciphers.

Leave a Reply

