Old & New: Four Pieces of Active Gear I Can’t Run Without

I’ve been running for 10+ years, and over the years I’ve gone through lots of active gear and clothing and shoes. When I think about my favorites, there are two pieces of gear that have been with me for years and two new ones that I am really loving. Check them out.

Two Things That Changed My (Running) Life

Spibelt

How did I ever run without my spibelt? I’ve had this thing for years and it’s probably the single best piece of active gear I’ve ever bought. Basically it’s a svelte fanny pack that is just big enough for your smart phone and a key and maybe a few other things. I don’t even notice that I’m wearing it, and I always have my essentials on hand.

Body Glide

Oh, body glide, how I love thee. Running would be much more uncomfortable without this little stick of happiness. Swipe it on anywhere you’re prone to get chafing and be amazed.

Two New Pieces of Active Gear I’m Loving

IMG_20160728_170558220-01Bottle band

I am not a fan of running in super hot heat (who is?) and in past summers I would use the treadmill at the gym. I’m no longer a gym member (plus I never really loved the treadmill) so I’ve been running outside in the heat this summer. I tried carrying my water bottle with me and it was awkward holding on to it the whole run. I checked out some options and happily came across the Bottle Band. For just a few bucks, the band will latch on to any sized water bottle and provides you with an insta-handle. I love running with it now. It’s comfortable and I can change the way I grip it throughout the run.

Bellabeat’s Leaf

PhotoGrid_1470348053253

Photos courtesy of Bellabeat

I always liked the idea of the Fitbit, in terms of the data I could get from it, but was never crazy about the idea of the plastic band. Enter Bellbeat’s Leaf. It’s made for women and made to look beautiful and can be worn four different ways (as a necklace, bracelet, clipped on your shirt, or on your pants). I got the Leaf earlier this summer and enjoy trying to get to 10,000 steps a day (harder than I imagined!). The app that goes with it is easy to use and it’s been fun keeping track of my health data. I wear it when I run and with all my outfits every day. So far so good!

What are your favorite new and old pieces of gear that you recommend? Tell me in the comments.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Stephanie Y.

I'm a professional news writer in Frederick, Maryland. I blog at S.Y. Ciphers.

Leave a Reply

